Project Description



Tina May – Vocal
Nikki Iles – Piano
Phil Donkin – Bass
Stephen Keogh – Drums
and guest Karen Sharp – Saxophone


1. Lucky To Be Me
2. In Your Own Sweet Way
3. Si TU Partais/If You Go
4. Beloved
5. When You Wish Upon A Star
6. Body and Soul
7. Peace
8. Speak Low
9. Sweet Dulcinea
10.Stolen Moments
11. I Never Told You

For musical taste, delicacy of interpretation and presentational flair Tina May has always been a hard act to follow. She is also completely at home in jazz, which isn’t as common among high-profile singers as you might think. The way she negotiates Clifford Brown’s “Daahoud” (here retitled “Beloved”) demonstrates that. Her choice of songs is as hip as anyone could wish, including pieces by Kenny Wheeler, Oliver Nelson and Horace Silver. With the immaculate piano of Nikki Iles and occasional touches of tenor saxophone from Karen Sharp, this is a delight.
Dave Gelly. The Observer. November 2009

Project Details